The nosology of rosacea

Richard Odom
Cutis; Cutaneous Medicine for the Practitioner 2004, 74 (3 Suppl): 5-8, 32-4
The National Rosacea Society (NRS) convened a committee of dermatology thought leaders to develop a standard classification system for rosacea. Based on the primary and secondary characteristics of this disorder, the NRS Expert Committee identified 4 types of rosacea: erythematotelangiectatic, papulopustular, phymatous, and ocular; one variant, granulomatous, also was recognized. The NRS Expert Committee also developed a grading system for rosacea signs and symptoms that will complement this classification system. The classification system and forthcoming grading system will help practitioners refine their diagnosis and treatment of rosacea to ensure better outcomes for patients.

Full Text Links

Find Full Text Links for this Article


You are not logged in. Sign Up or Log In to join the discussion.

Trending Papers

Remove bar
Read by QxMD icon Read

Save your favorite articles in one place with a free QxMD account.


Search Tips

Use Boolean operators: AND/OR

diabetic AND foot
diabetes OR diabetic

Exclude a word using the 'minus' sign

Virchow -triad

Use Parentheses

water AND (cup OR glass)

Add an asterisk (*) at end of a word to include word stems

Neuro* will search for Neurology, Neuroscientist, Neurological, and so on

Use quotes to search for an exact phrase

"primary prevention of cancer"
(heart or cardiac or cardio*) AND arrest -"American Heart Association"