[Clinical presentations and classification of rosacea]

T Jansen
Annales de Dermatologie et de Vénéréologie 2011, 138 Suppl 2: S138-47
Rosacea is a chronic skin disease affecting up to 10% of the population. It includes various combinations of characteristic signs and symptoms in a centrofacial distribution. There is a lack of consensus in the understanding of the different expressions of rosacea and the classification of the disease. It has been previously classified into four stages (pre-rosacea, stages I-III) and a variety of variants (persistent erythema and edema in rosacea, rosacea conglobata, rosacea fulminans, etc.). The National Rosacea Society (NRS) has classified rosacea into four subtypes (erythematotelangiectatic, papulopustular, phymatous, ocular) and one variant (lupoid or granulomatous) avoiding assumptions on pathogenesis and progression. This classification system uses diagnostic criteria which assess both primary and secondary features of the disease. Suggestions for rosacea severity assessment have been included. Classification of rosacea into stages or subtypes, with or without progression, remains controversial until there is a better understanding of the pathogenesis of the disease.

Full Text Links

Find Full Text Links for this Article


You are not logged in. Sign Up or Log In to join the discussion.

Related Papers

Remove bar
Read by QxMD icon Read

Save your favorite articles in one place with a free QxMD account.


Search Tips

Use Boolean operators: AND/OR

diabetic AND foot
diabetes OR diabetic

Exclude a word using the 'minus' sign

Virchow -triad

Use Parentheses

water AND (cup OR glass)

Add an asterisk (*) at end of a word to include word stems

Neuro* will search for Neurology, Neuroscientist, Neurological, and so on

Use quotes to search for an exact phrase

"primary prevention of cancer"
(heart or cardiac or cardio*) AND arrest -"American Heart Association"