Measuring catatonia: a systematic review of rating scales

Pascal Sienaert, Jonas Rooseleer, Jürgen De Fruyt
Journal of Affective Disorders 2011, 135 (1-3): 1-9

BACKGROUND: Despite a growing scientific and clinical interest in catatonia, its precise definition remains debated.

AIM: The aim of this study was to offer a systematic review of the different rating scales that have been developed to assess catatonia in clinical practice.

METHODS: A Medline-search was performed, up to December 2010.

RESULTS: Seven catatonia rating scales were retrieved: the Modified Rogers Scale, the Rogers Catatonia Scale, the Bush-Francis Catatonia Rating Scale (BFCRS), and its revision, the Northoff Catatonia Rating Scale (NCRS), the Braunig Catatonia Rating Scale (BCRS), and the Kanner Scale.

CONCLUSION: Several catatonia rating scales are proposed to detect the catatonic syndrome and to evaluate treatment response. BFCRS, NCRS and BCRS are reliable for use in variable populations in which catatonia is prevalent. The BFCRS is preferred for routine use, because of its validity and reliability, and its ease of administration.

Full Text Links

Find Full Text Links for this Article


You are not logged in. Sign Up or Log In to join the discussion.

Related Papers

Remove bar
Read by QxMD icon Read

Search Tips

Use Boolean operators: AND/OR

diabetic AND foot
diabetes OR diabetic

Exclude a word using the 'minus' sign

Virchow -triad

Use Parentheses

water AND (cup OR glass)

Add an asterisk (*) at end of a word to include word stems

Neuro* will search for Neurology, Neuroscientist, Neurological, and so on

Use quotes to search for an exact phrase

"primary prevention of cancer"
(heart or cardiac or cardio*) AND arrest -"American Heart Association"