[Clinical pathologic classification of idiopathic interstitial pneumonia: review and perspectives]

Vincent Cottin
Bulletin de L'Académie Nationale de Médecine 2010, 194 (2): 327-40; discussion 340-2
The international classification of idiopathic interstitial pneumonia published in 2002 includes seven clinical-pathologic entities distinguished by their clinical features, aspect on high-resolution computed tomography, and histopathologic findings on lung biopsy. These seven entities are idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis (with features typical of interstitial pneumonia), nonspecific interstitial pneumonia, cryptogenic organising pneumonia, respiratory bronchiolitis with interstitial lung disease, desquamative interstitial pneumonia, lymphocytic interstitial pneumonia, and acute idiopathic interstitial pneumonia (with features of diffuse alveolar damage). This classification provides clearer diagnostic criteria for each entity, has fostered clinical research and therapeutic trials, and forms the basis for international guidelines on patient care. The classification is currently being revised in order to better integrate the recently identified syndrome of combined pulmonary fibrosis and emphysema, acute exacerbations of fibrosis, and new pathophysiologic and genetic findings.

Full Text Links

Find Full Text Links for this Article


You are not logged in. Sign Up or Log In to join the discussion.

Related Papers

Remove bar
Read by QxMD icon Read

Save your favorite articles in one place with a free QxMD account.


Search Tips

Use Boolean operators: AND/OR

diabetic AND foot
diabetes OR diabetic

Exclude a word using the 'minus' sign

Virchow -triad

Use Parentheses

water AND (cup OR glass)

Add an asterisk (*) at end of a word to include word stems

Neuro* will search for Neurology, Neuroscientist, Neurological, and so on

Use quotes to search for an exact phrase

"primary prevention of cancer"
(heart or cardiac or cardio*) AND arrest -"American Heart Association"