Rosacea subtypes: a treatment algorithm

Mark V Dahl
Cutis; Cutaneous Medicine for the Practitioner 2004, 74 (3 Suppl): 21-7, 32-4
Based on various signs and symptoms, the National Rosacea Society (NRS) Expert Committee has divided the syndrome of rosacea into 4 major subtypes: erythematotelangiectatic, papulopustular (inflammatory), phymatous, and ocular. Each of the subtypes can be divided further into more specific subgroups. For example, sensory rosacea is an additional subtype that can be recognized and treated. Signs and symptoms may direct therapy. This article proposes an overview of common treatments based on subtypes. Treatments that have been validated by randomized controlled trials are reviewed. However, many excellent treatments have not been validated by double-blind randomized trials.

Full Text Links

Find Full Text Links for this Article


You are not logged in. Sign Up or Log In to join the discussion.

Related Papers

Remove bar
Read by QxMD icon Read

Save your favorite articles in one place with a free QxMD account.


Search Tips

Use Boolean operators: AND/OR

diabetic AND foot
diabetes OR diabetic

Exclude a word using the 'minus' sign

Virchow -triad

Use Parentheses

water AND (cup OR glass)

Add an asterisk (*) at end of a word to include word stems

Neuro* will search for Neurology, Neuroscientist, Neurological, and so on

Use quotes to search for an exact phrase

"primary prevention of cancer"
(heart or cardiac or cardio*) AND arrest -"American Heart Association"